Central Iowa PRSA Awards Three Scholarships

Ferne Bonomi & Dr. Henry Milam Scholarship Recipient: Baillee Furst

Baillee Furst, a junior at Simpson College was awarded the Ferne Bonomi and Dr. Henry Milam scholarship. Baillee is majoring in PR and English, with minors in political science and business management. She is active in her college’s PRSSA chapter, holding several leadership roles including marketing committee chair, Goodwill Fashion Show co-chair and her current position as C Street Agency Firm Director.      

During her time at Simpson College, Baillee has also been part of Simpson's Campus Activities Board, the largest organization on campus, in the role of social media director. She is also a member of the speech and debate team, a First-Year Experience Colloquium leader, a Humanities Ambassador, and a student coach for the softball team. Baillee is a member of two Simpson honor societies: Alpha Lambda Delta and Sigma Tau Delta. As for community involvement, she was a Principal Community Scholar last year and has held three internships and one undergraduate position.

Student Scholarship Recipient: Kennedy Plowman

Central Iowa PRSA awarded a second student scholarship this year to Kennedy Plowman, a junior at Iowa State University, majoring in PR and speech communications. Kennedy is president of the Iowa State PRSSA chapter, and has held additional leadership roles during her involvement with the organization. She has been on the ISU Dean’s List for four semesters, is a Governor’s Scholar and holds an Iowa FFA Degree.


Advance Degree Scholarship Recipient: Erin Campbell

The final scholarship Central Iowa PRSA awards each year is for a PR professional to continue his or her education through an advanced degree or professional development opportunity. This year’s advanced degree scholarship was awarded to Erin Campbell, director of communications for the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives. Erin is enrolled in the University of Iowa’s Graduate Program for Strategic Communication, and anticipates earning her degree by May 2020. She is an active member of Central Iowa PRSA, serving as liaison for Wartburg PRSSA and job bank chair. Erin also served on 2017 committee to develop our chapter’s Three-Year Strategic Plan.

Return to list